1 2
ccrelan (Forum Supporter)
ccrelan (Forum Supporter) Reader
10/24/20 9:04 p.m.

Hi Everyone- I have been meaning to write this new car up, but need to take a step back and explain my previous daily driver.

Old daily was a 1999 E300 with the OM606 turbo engine.  I converted the entire car to E55 specs on the car aside from the engine- suspension, body kit, seats, brakes, etc.  I work in sales and put a lot of miles on the car.  I got a hybrid stock turbo and ecu tune so it was roughly 250hp.  The only bad news is like a lot of W210 cars is rust.  It was definitely not horrible by any means, but was not going to go away unless I spent some serious coin on fixing it.  The 606 turbo engine is going to be swapped into a really clean 1995 E300.

With COVID happening, I am not traveling nearly to the degree that I was so any loss in fuel economy was gained in grins with the added power from the V8.  This 99 E55 was bought really inexpensively for what they sell for. as prices on these are generally climbing  The car was the same silver color that the diesel was making the purchase a no brainer.

Here is the E55 when I got it home.  The car definitely has some needs, but largely I have the parts needed for it.  

First thing I did was sell the 18" monoblock wheels and recouped a good amount of money.  I transferred the 17" BBS RK wheels that I ran on the diesel which are much lighter than the monoblocks and have the ability to rotate tires.  When swapping the wheels, I noticed the car has H&R springs on it which may or may not stay.  It also has a resonator delete which seems to be universally suggested mod.