1 2
Rookierolla
Rookierolla
12/10/14 5:11 p.m.

Recently i purchased a 1982 toyota corolla deluxe sedan. What are my options on getting more Hp and torque on the 3tc engine that it has. I would appreciate any feedback. I know it comes down to what I want to do and How much I'm willing to spend..keep in mind that this is my first project Car and don't want to spend a whole lot of $$$$$. I would totally appreciate it.

mainlandboy
mainlandboy Reader
12/11/14 5:40 p.m.

Here you go:

http://www.brdracing.com/

Rookierolla
Rookierolla New Reader
12/17/14 1:53 p.m.

Thank you mlb. I've already looked into brd...what I am looking for is some option or input on overhauling the 3tc motor I have in my 1982 toyota corolla 1.8 deluxe sedan that I have just purchased. Want to add some HP and torque to it. If you or anyone has any suggestions I would gladly appreciate it..keeping in mind that this is my first project car.once again thank you... reply to mainlandboy:

oldeskewltoy
oldeskewltoy SuperDork
12/17/14 2:50 p.m.

Are you willing to pull the head and do a valve job??

many of Toyota's 2 valve engines can really use a 3 angle valve job...

As you can see above the absence of a 3rd angle really sticks out in the airflow, causing the exhaust gasses to have to flow around the edge

DEATHTRAP
DEATHTRAP New Reader
12/19/14 11:14 a.m.

How about a camshaft change and side draft webbers? And there is the option of hanging a turbo on it. I have heard that the comp. ratio is around 9:1. Iron block + low compression + turbo + small light weight car = fun! Or you can take my approach and force a v8 in it.

Rookierolla
Rookierolla New Reader
12/23/14 3:37 p.m.