1 2 3 ... 31
jh36
jh36 Reader
10/18/20 6:23 a.m.

To start my saga, this is what I've been racing for 20 years.  I have thoroughly enjoyed figuring out how to make the Porsche 944 go quickly.  I have done pretty well with these cars with the help of my sons and friends. 

In August at VIR i was the first car into some oil at turn 3.  I had just passed for the lead and was cranking through there.  The hit was significant, it rang my bell pretty good and the geometry was compromised.  The car was done.

It would be fairly straightforward to pull the organs and transplant...but I've been there/done that.  Greener paddocks were calling me.

jh36
jh36 Reader
10/18/20 6:57 a.m.

Out with the old, in with the new.  To make room in my heart, my schedule and my shop, it was time to let go of a lot of stuff.  Everything went to one guy, Greg.  Not all the stuff made these pictures.  It was considerable.

jh36
jh36 Reader
10/18/20 7:18 a.m.

In with the new.

I romanticize the original Trans Am series.  Who doesn't?  And while I've mostly raced smaller displacement cars, I like everything.  On race weekends, Chris Cobetto (NASA Mid ATLANTIC DIRECTOR) and i typically start the day in my bus with a good cup of coffee and a mediocre breakfast bagel.  He is largely to blame for this.  Or thank.  Or both.

Chris and I agreed that the retired Late Model platform was the biggest bang for the HP buck in racing.  if I could trim off enough, I thought I could fit a body on the chassis that I would find interesting and attractive with just the right amount of challenging.  Then I saw this.

This car was driven by Deren Ardinger.  It was well built, sorted and raced by a competent fellow. 

Javelin (Forum Supporter)
Javelin (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/18/20 10:23 a.m.

I like where this is going.

vwcorvette (Forum Supporter)
vwcorvette (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
10/18/20 12:23 p.m.

frenchyd
frenchyd PowerDork
10/18/20 12:50 p.m.

In reply to jh36 :