1 2
KaptKaos
KaptKaos Reader
2/28/10 1:27 a.m.

Y’all remember my wife? The one that doesn’t want me stealing kitchen stuff for car projects? Last night we had a little talk. It was my idea. Really.

Life has been crazy lately, and it’s not going to get better for the next few months. My daughters have all started softball. That means I will be living at the ball field for the next 3-4 months. I may as well get a tent and camp there. I am an assistant coach on two teams. Add to this my business, school plays, homework, and other obligations and you can see that my time is really limited. I had a 13 hour day yesterday and when I got home, I poured myself a nice martini. I was done for the day.

So I sat on the couch, next to my wife and asked her to kick my ass.

About 8 months ago, I was trying to fix an exhaust stud on my 914. The intake and exhaust studs on these motors are notorious for failing. The heat cycles and the high temps cause the studs to strip regularly. One of the fixes is a step down stud. A step down stud is an 8mm stud on one end and a 10mm on the other. You drill out and tap the hole that the stud was in; put in the step down stud and you’re done.

I had done this on another stud, and it worked like a charm. This time, when I drilled the old stud hole out, I was a little crooked. A small difference in the angle at the bottom means that the exhaust won’t sit flat and seal. Basically, I messed it up.

So I haven’t been driving the car. I have been spending my time with my Volvo 122 Wagon, which I am really enjoying.

My DD, a ’91 Jetta GLi 2.0 16v (that’s a mouthful) is giving up the ghost. The trans is going at 148k miles. I am driving the Volvo, even though it’s not done yet. It’s becoming a rolling restoration.