Colin Wood
Colin Wood Associate Editor
5/29/20 10:01 a.m.
feature_image

The 2020 Nissan Altima remains relatively unchanged from the 2019 model year. However, unlike the SV trim we previously reviewed, this top-trim Platinum model comes equipped with Nissan's new variable compression, turbocharged inline-four engine.

Without getting too into the weeds about it, the VC Turbo engine can quite literally change compression on the fly—while altering displacement from about 1970cc to about 1997cc, according to Nissan.

The …

Read the rest of the story

Duke
Duke MegaDork
5/29/20 10:07 a.m.

That seems like a lot of engineering and mechanical complexity for a subtle effect.

I have zero experience with recent Nissans so I am willing to admit I could be wrong.

MadScientistMatt
MadScientistMatt PowerDork
5/29/20 10:08 a.m.

I have an engineering textbook from the late '90s that had a drawing of a similar idea - looks like it took a long time to translate this into something that would work in a production engine. I have to wonder if the efficiency gains are worth the extra weight and complexity.

Sonic
Sonic UltraDork
5/29/20 10:17 a.m.

I had one of these as a rental recently with 2k miles on it, with the base 2.5 power train. 

Nissan should be embarrassed to sell this completely sub par car.  Driving it back to back with a 2014 Accord it was clear that the Accord was superior in everything but infotainment, as would be expected in 6 years (but even that was not easy to use and froze).   The power train calibration was so tragic, the gas pedal had very questionable and non linear response, the transmission was never in the right ratio and would see-saw RPM at steady throttle.   The steering was just as bad, it couldn't stay straight on a new level highway without constant corrections, and the amount of steering effort and feel was completely non linear, it would load up as you started a corner, then completely go away, almost like it was binding (on a 2k mile car).