AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter)
AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/25/23 5:00 p.m.

Since Opti is your middle, wait, first name, I hope you're the guy to ask: of the optispark replacements currently available, which one is best? Are they all interchangeable from 92-97? My engine is an early 94 y-body, if that matters.

Taterstein
Taterstein New Reader
11/25/23 5:05 p.m.

In reply to AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter) :

I'll second this! I have a 96' roadmaster wagon in need of a replacement optispark and looking around online has me confused if there are any good options at all.

81cpcamaro
81cpcamaro SuperDork
11/25/23 5:27 p.m.

If I get anything wrong, Opti can correct.

The early Optispark was driven by a spline in the middle of the cam gear 92-94,  while the 95-97 was driven by a longer pin in the camshaft that protruded through the cam sprocket. So changing to the later design requires a different cam gear and either camshaft or longer pin at a minimum.

Used to be the Delco one was the good one, but production moved to China so it is hit or miss. I used an Ebay one on a 94 and it ran fine.  It was $73 vs $450 for the Delco one so it was worth taking the chance to me.

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
11/25/23 6:44 p.m.

In reply to 81cpcamaro :

My 95 9C1 was still spline driven. Maybe an early build? There are retrofits to adapt LS style coils to the LT1. Worth looking into.

You definitely want a vented one (95 and up I believe)

My Opti was running great at 193,000. Never touched anything the 12 years I owned it

81cpcamaro
81cpcamaro SuperDork
11/25/23 7:42 p.m.

Appleseed, that is a possibility, especially with GM. I've only dealt with the F-body and Corvette ones with aluminum heads.  With either version, keep an eye on the water pump, as it usually is what kills the Optispark.

Opti
Opti UltraDork
11/25/23 8:08 p.m.

There are two types. 92-94 which are spline drive and non vented, and 95-97 which are pin drive and vented.