1 2 3
ClemSparks
ClemSparks SuperDork
1/29/10 1:40 p.m.

Pardon me genlemen, but could you please enlighten me about the Volvo 740?

It seems I may have the opportunity to get a "nice" 740 turbo wagon that won't start for "whatever you think it's worth" from an acquaintance of mine.

I don't know ANYTHING about the car other than that (year, transmission type, color, etc)...and the extent of my Volvo 740 knowledge was just bolstered by a cursory glance at a wiki page about them. So...yeah...I don't know much.

I know they have a very good reputation for being durable and safe cars.

As a daily driver, I suppose a turbo would be entertaining enough for me.

There was a long production run, so I'd assume there are lots of "factory parts bin" type upgrades for them. Do tell.

What is the hot setup for suspension, power, comfort, etc. How do the A/C systems take to R134A conversions? Does it have a timing belt...if so, is it an interference engine?

I was about to ask about good forums from them but remembered turbobricks as I typed (I've heard that one mentioned here before). Are there others?

Tell me what you know...what you love, what you hate, what makes them go, what keeps them from going, etc.

Thanks!
Clem

integraguy
integraguy HalfDork
1/29/10 1:55 p.m.

Clem, if you haven't tried the "search" function here, that's a good place to start.

I was also looking at a vintage Volvo a month or two ago, a good website to try is www.ipd.com. I'm not sure, but I think www.pelicanparts.com may also have a section for Volvo (I can't say for sure as I haven't been there in awhile).

Some folks believe that the 740 and it's related 940/960 are the last of the "true" Volvos, and as such are slow(ish) depending on engine/transmission, and are very solidly built. Hey, they don't just LOOK like tanks.

jrw1621
jrw1621 Dork
1/29/10 2:05 p.m.

The 740 is 4cyl, turbo (optional) and is RWD! In wagon form they are quite spacious and capable haulers.