1 2
smog7
smog7 Dork
11/24/10 2:43 p.m.

As many of you know, my car has been giving me some problems. For those of you who do not know, I drive a 1990 st185 celica all trac. I am 23 years old and this is my first car. I am a new college graduate who is attending grad school. I have next to nothing in terms of spending cash, and my all trac has continued to stress me out.

list o' broken crap

Steering rack is shot ($300-$400 for replacement)

Speedo/odometer hasn't worked in 2 years, stuck at 149,xxx miles

Front passenger side cv axle is still busted (have replacement in garage)

Tie rod end boots are ripped

Oil leaking from cam seals ( I'm thinking this is the cause of my busted axle)

Rust in rear quarter panel below gas filler (Been working on this, now it is just a hole in the fender)

Rust in driver side rocker panel

Recently discovered that my front passenger side fender has a whole lot of bondo on it

Stupid idler pulley on the ac belt squeals like a mother (auto part stores do not offer a replacement part, $100 for toyota)

Engine mysteriously fails to turn on (irregularly) and turns off while running

Front passenger side speed/abs sensor wire is cut (tire tends to lock up on hard braking)

I really do love my car. It makes me happy to know that I drive an old school, awd, turbo, rally inspired celica. But I just do not know....

ClemSparks
ClemSparks SuperDork
11/24/10 2:52 p.m.

Based on what I see from what you said...

Ditch it, buy an appliance and get around stress free until you get your graduate degree and have time and/or money to play with a specialty car like you have now.

That's an arm's-length assessment.

Clem

93celicaGT2
93celicaGT2 SuperDork
11/24/10 2:59 p.m.

Couple things. (I'll try to answer more in-depth later)

Steering Rack: Rockauto has one for $272 including core charge of $56. That helps a little

Rockauto also has the inner/auto tie rods for $80 or less for everything.

Same for camshaft seals. About $6 for both.