FoolishAndy
FoolishAndy
5/22/08 9:19 p.m.

Hey, all --

I need your help in diagnosing what's causing a parasitic drain on my GRM-style '96 Tahoe.

Background & Symptoms - Everything was okay, then had it in to replace the intake manifold gasket last weekend. - After he put it back together (I didn't have time to do it myself), he had problems with the battery. - Replaced the battery last night, thinking the old one was just dead. - Today, the car won't start for my wife after she parked it for a few minutes while shopping.

What I've done so far: First, I should mention that I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to electrical issues...

I disconnected the negative terminal and connected one lead of my multimeter to the cable, one to the batter. Set on any of the Amps settings, the thing pegs the needle and will blow it's little fuse if I hold it for a second. Set on volts, it reads 12.x between the cable and the battery.

I went through an unplugged everything fuse by fuse and the volt rating never changed.

Again, I'm a noob here, but it appears that something is very wonky here. It must have a major drain on the battery to peg the needle like that... right? What do I do next?

Jensenman
Jensenman SuperDork
5/22/08 9:44 p.m.

Yow. If it pops the fuse in the DVOM, that's a serious draw, like over 10 amps. Can you say 'dead short to ground'? Pulling fuses doesn't kill it = something shorted between the battery and the fuseblock. I'm thinking a wire got pinched during the intake R&R.

You can also connect a test light instead of the DVOM (but in the same fashion) and start unplugging harnesses. If you disconnect a harness and the light goes out, you have just narrowed it way down. Start tracing that harness.