1 2
Japanspec
Japanspec Reader
9/21/21 7:44 a.m.

Hi guys. I'm currently saving up for a NA Miata that I will hopefully be able to afford sometime next year. Every car I have had so far has only been purchased through a dealer, but I figure it is time to stop paying a premium at a dealer, and start looking at private party sales for this purchase. I have never done this before, so any help and tips would be appreciated! A few questions I have are:

1.) Is payment typically cash, or is there a different method usually used?

2.) Should negotiations be done before going to see the car, or after checking it out in person?

3.) What are some red flags to look for in a private party listing?

4.) What is the buying process like (specifically PA if possible)? Do I just hand the seller money, they give me the title and key, and I go to the notary to claim the title, or does the seller need to sign off on something?

As you can tell, I'm very ignorant when it comes to buying a vehicle like this, since the dealer usually does all the work for me, so any additional help and tips are appreciated!

TGMF
TGMF HalfDork
9/21/21 8:04 a.m.

Negotiate in person, after viewing the car.  From a seller's perspective,  anyone arguing price without seeing the car isn't a serious buyer and I'll end the conversation as quickly as possible. 

I've done cashiers checks and cash.  Personally I'm not comfortable walking around with 10 or 20 thousand plus in cash on me. Makes me Feel like a target. If you do cashiers check, verify the seller is ok with this, and offer to meet them at their bank so they can verify funds. Then bring a check for less than the listed amount, plus the difference in cash. This way you have the ability to negotiate the price based on vehicle condition upon arrival, while still not carrying huge amounts of cash. Anyone that demands cash on a car for more than a few grand, would make me nervous.