1 2
SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
11/7/15 7:59 p.m.

I've never built a car to a class before.

I am considering modifying my Miata, and trying to figure out where to put it. I think I am looking at Emod, but not sure.

Here's where it will be at when I am finished:

• Original engine, with a turbo added. Aftermarket electronic engine management. Modified fuel and ignition systems. Fuel cell.

• Original transmission, but a swapped rear end with LSD and different gear ratios.

• Completely modified suspension, but factory geometry, and pickup points. Struts, springs, anti-roll, perches, camber adjusters, suspension bushings, etc.

• Race rubber. I've been running non-DOT legal road racing Hoosiers, but could switch this if I needed to for classing.

• Completely stripped interior. Race seat.

• Roll bar.

• Significant aero- most body panels modified or replaced with fiberglass panels (with different appearance). Some of the body modifications will be for aero, some for cooling.

• Windshield removed.

• Undercarriage aero (flat bottom plus skirts and diffuser)

• Wing.

• Very significant weight reduction.

• Considering active aero, but not sure if that is legal in any class. Might just be something I play with.

What else do you need to know? What should I change in my plan to keep things competitive?

irish44j
irish44j PowerDork
11/7/15 8:08 p.m.

My reading of your list looks like E Mod to me as well. That said, I'm a bit rusty on the current classing since I haven't looked at the rulebook in a while. I'm sure there are plenty of EMod miata folk on here that can give you a definitive answer though.

In the meantime, perhaps this handy diagram will help. I think it's the SCCA official classing rules.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
11/7/15 8:19 p.m.

In reply to irish44j:

I don't think your evil classing rules flowchart is welcome here.

Kylini
Kylini HalfDork
11/7/15 9:17 p.m.