Moparman
Moparman Reader
8/4/09 5:51 p.m.

I just mounted 205-15 Kumho XS tires on my daughter's autocross 84 Charger 2.2. What pressures should we run. The suspension is set up for autocross with 2.2 degrees negative camber up front.

iceracer
iceracer HalfDork
8/4/09 6:22 p.m.

Kumho might give you suggestions. I would guess somewhere north or south of 40 psi. Some run higher in the rear, depends on the set up. I'm sure others will chime in.

maroon92
maroon92 SuperDork
8/4/09 6:25 p.m.

depends on your driver preferences...as a general rule, lower relative pressure in the rear tends to help keep the rear following the fronts, and higher pressures in the rear tend to make the rear more "loose"

that said, I have no experience with the car, the tires, that much camber, and I have never been to Nats...or even won my class regionally.

Moparman
Moparman Reader
8/4/09 6:43 p.m.

I ran the Azenis that were on the car 45 front and 34 rear and the car seemed to like that.

aussiesmg
aussiesmg Dork
8/4/09 8:58 p.m.

As a basis I generally start at around 36 front and 34 rear and work from there...IMHO

d_jabsd
d_jabsd GRM+ Memberand Reader
8/5/09 7:35 a.m.
Moparman wrote: I ran the Azenis that were on the car 45 front and 34 rear and the car seemed to like that.

If the car liked those pressures, start there, then adjust as necessary. You probably won't end up too far off from those pressures in the end.

scottgib
scottgib New Reader
8/5/09 7:41 a.m.

They take less than Azenis. On my 02 MCS, I run 37 front, 33 rear when autocrossing. My car is 2540#. Put a little too much and back off until the scuff hits the little arrows at the side of the tread. That will give max grip. Optimal response needs a little more but is slower overall.

Tommy Suddard
Tommy Suddard GRM+ Memberand SonDork
8/5/09 8:49 a.m.

I run 32 all around, cold. They usually get to about 37 after a run or two. Then again, I'm in a light car.

Moparman
Moparman Reader
8/5/09 8:10 p.m.