1 2
Taterstein
Taterstein New Reader
8/16/24 8:25 p.m.

I had a 98 Volvo V70 Turbo T5 long ago and It left an impression. I am looking to change up the wife's current daily, 2011 Acura MDX to something a little older, funkier, funner and moar wagon. I have a 96 Buick Roadmaster for a winter car, but the wife won't drive without AWD in the slippery season. What are the options and which ones don't suck to own and drive? Easier for an average enthusiast wrench to keep on the road is more important than driving dynamics, but it would be great if it was entertaining to drive in some way. Heck, for a steak house my Roadmaster is pretty entertaining to drive. BMW, Volvo, Mercedes, Audi. Am I missing anyone? Bonus points if the 3rd row tail gunner seats were an option.

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/16/24 8:28 p.m.

Volvo is not the answer, they were done depreciating a few years ago.

Now they are in the fun zone where they are both expensive to buy (I saw an S60R at close to $20k and that isn't even a wagon, which is added value in Volvoworld) and parts are getting harder to find.

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
8/16/24 9:09 p.m.

In reply to Taterstein :

In the US the V70 was offered through 2011 and the awd, lifted XC70 was offered through 2016.  I'd think the are still relevant vehicles at decent prices.  Sure, at the end they became rather expensive but some 10+ year depreciation should work in your favor. 

The greatest challenge in Volvo shopping is to find one without tan leather.  It has been my experience that the tan hides are inferior to the charcoal or brown interiors.  The tan leather is thinner and more prone to distress cracks and tears.  A few years in and the tan driver's seat often looks like crap where the other colors of the same age wear so much better.    

175k Charcoal

175k brown

199k tan  Its very hard to find a tan interior listing that actually includes a picture of the driver's seat.  

02Pilot
02Pilot PowerDork