thatsnowinnebago
thatsnowinnebago GRM+ Memberand UberDork
3/14/24 8:03 p.m.

My wife's 2018 Mazda6 (with the 2.5 turbo) consumes about a quart of oil every 5000-7000 miles. Basically the oil light comes on right about the time an oil change is due. This is our first car with a turbocharger, so I'm not sure if that's to be expected or if something else is going on. The car has around 25,000 miles and gets used most often for short trips. 

Do we have anything to worry about?

Bibs
Bibs New Reader
3/14/24 9:22 p.m.

In reply to thatsnowinnebago :

As a data point for you, my wife has the CX-9 with the same engine, and it doesn't show any noticeable oil use between changes. Ours is a 2016, and has 70,000 miles.

I'm not an expert, so I'll leave others to offer ideas and advice! 

CyberEric
CyberEric SuperDork
3/14/24 9:46 p.m.

Definitely not an expert either, but I've heard some people complaining about the turbo 2.5 engines consuming oil on some Mazda forums. About the same amount you're describing. I don't know much about it, but someone mentioned valve stem seals. Seems to be exclusive the turbo motors from what I've heard. 

I wish I knew more, but I don't. Mazdas247 has pages of content about it. Not spent enough time on there to be sure about the knowledge of crowd there, though.

Bibs
Bibs New Reader
3/14/24 10:21 p.m.
CyberEric 

I wish I knew more, but I don't. Mazdas247 has pages of content about it. Not spent enough time on there to be sure about the knowledge of crowd there, though.

Wow. I just spent 10 minutes reading that forum....it makes me want to sell my CX9 now, before it breaks....there are tons of thread on engine replacements. 

thatsnowinnebago
3/14/24 10:24 p.m.

In reply to CyberEric :

I saw some threads about a recall on 2021s for the valve stem seals but nothing for older models. 

CyberEric
CyberEric SuperDork
3/15/24 8:44 a.m.

Gotcha. Maybe it wasn't just MY '21 that had the issue. Any smoke out the tail pipe ever?