1 2
BoostedBrandon
BoostedBrandon Reader
9/5/11 5:23 p.m.

I generally ask you guys about anything before I ask anyone, and I've been debating this for a few months now in my head. The mobile detailing thread made me decide to put it on here for a peanut gallery review.

Basically, I'm thinking of doing this part-time, on the side of my existing part time job. The idea behind this is convenience. I change soccer mom's oil while she's at work, so she doesn't have to rush to the quick lube place between ballet practice, soccer games, and picking up pizza. I also could do little things like topping off washer fluid, changing bulbs, etc etc.

So far the biggest hiccups I've run into are the cost of a vehicle and fuel, and the demographics of my town. I'd call it small town, maybe 12 to 14 thousand, but there's two other similar-sized towns within 20 minutes of driving I could service people with too.

I know the lube places can do it for cheaper because they buy their oil and filters in bulk, like hundreds of gallons of the stuff. I was thinking more of buying in smaller commodities, or doing it change by change, selling customers on the benefits of a synthetic oil and a quality filter.

I work usually evenings, 4 or 5 days a week, so I usually have most of the morning/early afternoon free, so I think I could have time to do this. My other big worry is that demand would be too great and it would strain my current part time job, which I enjoy, very much.

I've seen some mobile oil change rigs for sale online, with the hose reels and such, but that's entirely too much money, I was thinking a toolbox, some latex gloves, and a few cases of oil.

Thoughts?

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
9/5/11 5:31 p.m.

You might get a lot of resistance from the owners of the parking lots.

Joshua
Joshua HalfDork
9/5/11 6:08 p.m.