1 2
Colin Wood
Colin Wood Associate Editor
11/14/22 2:15 p.m.

I don't want to give too much away, but I'll be partaking in a comparison test of sorts at the FIRM this Friday.

It's an exciting chance to do something cool–and it'll be a great learning experience–but it is way out of my comfort zone.

I know I'm an associate editor here at GRM, but I've never had the opportunity to drive on track, so it'll be my first time ever. To make things even more complicated, I'm not very experienced with a manual transmission. I can do it in a pinch, but I've never really driven a car with a manual transmission for an extended period of time.

So, what should I expect/be prepared for during my first time on track?

Much teasing and laughter on pit lane.

Seriously,  Start out late apexing every turn, then move the apex back as you get comfortable.   Most beginners early apex way too much.... and spin a lot, or have to brake past the apex to save it.   Brake early, then move the braking point in as you get comfy.

If shifting rattles you, drive one gear higher until you get comfortable.   You probably would be surprised how fast you would go just driving the whole thing in 3rd.

Think smooth.

OH... and make sure Chris Tropea has a lot of storage space in his camera.

Colin Wood
11/14/22 2:51 p.m.

In reply to Purple Frog (Forum Supporter) :

Thanks for the advice. I'm trying to tell myself that it's okay to start out slow. I don't need to be turning perfect laps out of the gate (and nobody is expecting me to, either).

Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand Director of Marketing & Digital Assets
11/14/22 2:59 p.m.

Here's one bit of advice since you're brand new to this:

Lose control in a safe spot early on. This can be some gentle understeer, a slow spin, or just kicking the tail way out under braking. You're new enough that you probably won't have control over which of these scenarios you use, but you should fail once early on.