Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
9/16/23 8:52 p.m.

As of a few hours ago i own my first turbo car, and my first subaru in many years: a 2006 baja turbo automatic.

Its got some needs, and i have some wants. Having never been a subaru guy (i owned 3 or 4 over the years as appliances) im new at this whole thing. Ive never had any forced induction before. 

Engine:

Known Needs: timing belt, valve cover gaskets, all fluids, tune up, filters, rear trans seal leaking significantly onto cats, exhaust garbage. Is there other need to do maintenance that i dont know about? Its sitting at 204xxx and is a complete unknown as far as history. 

Known wants: faster!!! Im thinking better flowing intake and exhaust parts since im already in there. Apparently some stuff from the forester xt fits? I gather from reading i want a catless uppipe and bigger downpipe? And an intake? Im looking just for challenge budget power here. Id also like to improve throttle response while im at it. Seems kind of soggy. 

Chassis: 

Known needs: fluids and filters. Ac needs charged. Theres reported rust in brake lines at the back junction,  but i cant seem to locate it. Struts are definitely not healthy. Brakes are funky feeling. Clicking from dead stop that feels like either cv shaft or driveshaft hitting. Looks like rear trans moint collapsed. Address some surface rust. Seat heaters inop, seats only semi-move. What needs am i not thinking of? What don't i know yet?

Wants: better sway bars, lowered. Killer ac. Killer brakes. 

General: what interchanges with what? Amy turbo special maintenance? Any reason NOT to free up intake and exhaust? 

This is to be a daily driver, and 2025 challenge car. So keep all that in mind. 

What other information do we need, or what am i not asking or thinking of? 

Thanks yall!!

Patrick
Patrick GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/16/23 9:52 p.m.

It's junk you should definitely pass it along to someone with subaru experience (me)

Dusterbd13-michael