1 2 3 4
deutschman
deutschman New Reader
8/22/11 11:01 p.m.

Ok guys. I have a few questions for anyone who feels like sharing some life knowledge with a young 24 year old. I have come to a point and time in my life where I feel I need to move on and up and challenge my self further. I have talked to a few close friends and family members about this, but I feel it helps to get unbiased views from strangers some times.
First a bit about my self. I have always been good at technical things in which I can use my photo memory and problem solving skills to figure something out and then bring it into the physical world with my hands. Ever sins I was a small, child I have been building things. I used my moms kitchen mixers as power drills, and my favorite presents were old electronics I could take apart and study. Sins graduating high school I have been a carpenter in SF (CA), studied stone masonry in German (I speak German), and am finishing my AA at the SF City College Culinary School this year. I spend all my free time, money, and energy on learning about cars and how they work, building my 2002 and then rebuilding it , and learning skills like welding. It has been a struggle to find something that is truly satisfying, and keeps my over active brain working hard on problems. Cooking has been fun, a challenge, and has taught me a lot. I love it, but it is just not right for me. While my friends, who are truly cooks, get lost in culinary mags and cook books, I find my self reading GRM and "Competition Car Suspension, A Practical Handbook by Allan Staniforth." I just can not muster the same amount of enthusiasm for cooking and food I see burning in their eyes. How ever, everyone I talk to says they can see the same hunger in my eyes when I talk about cars and building/creating anything to do with them. What it comes down to is this. Next year I feel like I need to take the step from being a DIY guy to a professional of some sort. I am looking for some guidance in this.