blacksheep
blacksheep
1/31/22 2:51 p.m.

Hi! I hope this post is in the correct forum

I've been instructing for 15 years with local clubs in the Montreal, Quebec area.

I love instructing, but with the power and speed of recent cars, my survival instinct has me looking into head & neck restraint systems. The best option seems to be the Simpson Hybrid S which works with harnesses *or* OEM 3-point belts, but the price is outrageous here in Canada ... I'm looking at CAD$1700+ with exchange and taxes.

Is there any way to buy these cheaper, such as group buys, instructor discounts, etc?

Or, if someone you know is selling a used one in size M please let me know

Thanks

Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand Director of Marketing & Digital Assets
1/31/22 3:18 p.m.

I have a Hybrid S for the same reason--it protects my neck in race cars and in cars with OEM belts. 

I've found that I wear it exclusively, even though I also have a traditional HANS. It's great, and I'd recommend it 100%

Sadly, though, I don't know of any way to get them cheaper. 

I bought a $300 bicycle helmet a few weeks ago, and justified it the same way I've always justified safety gear: How stupid will I feel if I hurt myself to save some cash? Hospital beds are expensive, and I've never found it hard to justify reducing the chance of ending up in one by spending extra money. It's a tougher decision when that more expensive gear is completely out of the budget, but if it's a question of wanting to save money vs. needing to save money, just order the good stuff and be glad you'll be able to say "I did everything within my power to prevent this injury" if anything ever does happen.

adam525i
adam525i GRM+ Memberand Dork
1/31/22 3:26 p.m.