Acme Lab Rat
Acme Lab Rat Reader
4/20/16 7:54 p.m.

So I'm buying a house, which obviously means I need to add another payment to my life and thus, I must buy a truck. This is sensible given not only what I do for a living (requires hauling stuff/people to and from farms on occasion), but also the amount of build-threading my house is going to require. Here are my particulars:

Budget: Between $5k-$8k

Style: Would prefer a pickup, but an SUV that can tow a trailer would be good

Needs: V8 power would be preferred, absolutely needs 4WD (Michigan!)

My inclinations: I really like the late 90's - early 2K's Ford F-150 for looks, but I know the Triton is no match for a similar-year LS truck motor. I don't know much else about Ford's build quality from the era, but likewise I have nothing against GM products. I'm inclined for reasons I can't put my finger on to avoid Dodge and rigs from across the Pacific, but I can be convinced. I'd like to keep maintenance costs to a predictable amount (i.e. want to avoid smoking transmissions or blown motors).

What say you, GRM? GMT800 something-or-other?

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
4/20/16 8:05 p.m.

Is this going to be a daily driver or stricty a weekend lumber hauler?

You want an 8 foot box and a standard cab. I like GM stuff myself, much simpler than the OHC Ford stuff. I not a 4x4 fan but it's all paved roads where I'm at. You seem to pay a lot more for something you rarely, if ever use. A Lock-Rite diff will go a long way with good tires. Look at (GMT400) 96-99 Vortech trucks too. Lots of ability for less money. 88-94 TBI works well, just a little slower doing it. Anvil reliability though.

rslifkin
rslifkin HalfDork
4/20/16 8:09 p.m.

The Dodge stuff from that era isn't too bad, provided you can keep it from rusting apart and you actually maintain the trans.