1 2
BradLTL
BradLTL GRM+ Memberand Dork
7/30/14 10:32 a.m.

I know... I know...

I did search, and what I found is that the titles weren't helpful in finding an existing topic that met my needs. So I started a new favorite thread for everyone! I tried to make the title descriptive so that other might not have to repeat.

I'm car bored. I've been driving a truck for 3 years now, I'm not the kind of person that drives a truck... but it tows race cars and hauls toddler, so you know... whatever. The thing is, I haven't really been towing the race car much, so I'm just driving a truck. I miss the enjoyment of driving. I've received tentative approval from the wife to car shop.

Here is your criteria:

• Price: $10,000 - $25,000. Ideally I would like to keep it in/below $15k, but for the "right" car I can go up a bit.
  • Manual transmission, or at least a good "flappy-paddle".
  • AWD or RWD
  • Daily driver
  • It has to be able to haul a kid and all the stuff that comes with them fairly comfortably and regularly. So this means 4 doors, 5, hatch, wagon, etc. Mazda Rx-8s need not apply.
  • It needs to be fun to drive. I should be able to autocross it without too many funny looks.
  • Wife criteria: can't be "high" mileage, prefers "newer" cars, "reasonable" maintenance costs

I've been looking a bit, and nothing is grabbing me yet. Help! Here are some thoughts: WRX Sti, CTS V, BMW 335i / 550i / 545 / etc., Infiniti G/M, MazdaSpeed6 (why are these so cheap?)

Any thoughts? What am I over looking? Do you think I'll ultimately be disappointed with any of the candidates and should just stick with the truck?

mndsm
mndsm MegaDork
7/30/14 10:39 a.m.