1 2 3
octavious
octavious HalfDork
10/6/14 8:34 a.m.

Alright, I have seen it for years, motorcyclists waving to other motorcyclists. And I am a Jeep Wrangler driver so I know all about the wave.

I should also add that as a newb letting go of the handlebars to wave seems very foreign to me. But here is what happened...

I was out this weekend, riding a little stretch of two lane, and got my first wave from a lady riding an unknown cruiser going in the opposite direction. Same road, going down a long straight section, and just a few minutes later I had two dudes on unknown crusiers go by and not wave. At first I thought they were both just DBs, and then I wondered if there was an unknown crusiers vs sportbikes issue.

Is there a cruiser vs sportbike issue? Or were those other two just DBs?

eastsidemav
eastsidemav Dork
10/6/14 8:41 a.m.

Eh, some people don't wave at dissimilar bikes, some people don't wave at all. I tend not to worry about it.

Besides, I'm on a scooter with 10" wheels, I'm not taking my hands off the handlebars unless I know for sertain the road is glass smooth. I usually just nod.

Trans_Maro
Trans_Maro UberDork
10/6/14 9:11 a.m.

Just wave at everyone.

Some guys are too cool for school and won't wave back.

I try to do it in corners as much as possible to make the HD riders take their hands off the bars.

Nick_Comstock
Nick_Comstock PowerDork
10/6/14 9:12 a.m.

50% of the time I'll have people wave or point to the ground. If I'm in a place where I feel safe I'll reciprocate. I'll never wave or point first. In my experience most sport bike riders will not and most big twin Harley riders will not.

It's weird though I have yet to be approached at a gas stop by anyone else on any kind of bike. Usually the only people who will talk to me is old guys in pickup trucks that had sportsters back in the 60's and 70's. And I'm Ok with that.

rotard
rotard Dork
10/6/14 9:18 a.m.