nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
8/25/23 11:28 a.m.

My oldest is about to get her driver's license and we've found an old beater VW TDi to be her first car.

The paint on the car is garbage -- the clear coat is long gone from the hood, top, trunk and even the top of the doors.  A rusty fender was just replaced, so it's only in primer.

We want to make this car look more presentable, but there's no way I'm spending good money on an old junker for a complete re-spay.

What sort of cheap/DIY-friendly restoration or repaint options should I look into?  I have zero experience with auto paint so I'd love to hear your experiences with your own low-buck projects.

Datsun310Guy
Datsun310Guy MegaDork
8/25/23 11:33 a.m.

Datsun310Guy
Datsun310Guy MegaDork
8/25/23 11:37 a.m.

We bought a 220,000 mile Civic and the one owner kept up on it and recently had the rear bumper painted due to scratches prior to selling to me. 

My 16 year old daughter backs over our garbage can before week #2 ends.  Don't put in too much effort. 

nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
8/25/23 11:50 a.m.

LOL.  As a teen I was super rough on my own first beaters so i have low expectations here.  My goal is to get it to the point where it looks OK-ish from 10 feet away so that she's not mortified to drive it. 

93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo UltraDork
8/25/23 12:03 p.m.

Scuff and shoot with single stage tractor paint and a harbor freight or Wagner gun.  60 bucks a gallon.  Will look infinitely better than the current situation.  

gearheadmb
gearheadmb UltraDork
8/25/23 12:05 p.m.

Do you have or have access to a large air compressor? I painted my tractor with a $20 HF spray gun and rustoleum tractor paint. I was quite happy with it. The impression I got from the paint was that nobody is going to get an A+ paint job from it, but just about any doofus (me) could get a B paint job.

Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter)
Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
8/25/23 12:52 p.m.
gearheadmb said: