1 2 3
M030
M030 Dork
4/20/16 6:38 p.m.

Im a teacher, and it seems that many young people I encounter believe fun cars are somehow less masculine to own. For example, I get a lot of flack from them for my old red Boxster, which, "girl's car" or not happens to be my favorite car I've ever owned. Heaven help you if you show up in a Miata or a VW Cabrio. Incidentally, I like driving both. A lot. Does anybody actually buy into that "girl's car" crap or are we all adults here and just drive what we like?

BrokenYugo
BrokenYugo UltimaDork
4/20/16 6:47 p.m.

Personally, I don't care what a bunch of homophobic teenagers think about me. I'll still joke about VW cabrios though.

The0retical
The0retical Dork
4/20/16 6:49 p.m.

I like to pretend I'm an adult.

That said I came to the conclusion long ago that SUVs allow me to have interesting cars to drive. So far as the chick car thing goes, not that I care, but every convertible seems to be considered a chick car. Not sure where that came from but it generally identifies the people I won't get along with.

Put a Rocket Bunny kit on it and I can assure you that the tune of teenagers will turn though.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/20/16 7:04 p.m.

Do you make more money than them?

Have you touched actual boobs?

If you answered "Yes" to both questions, then who cares what they think? ---> You win.

ultraclyde
ultraclyde UberDork
4/20/16 7:09 p.m.

If you are letting the opinions of the children you teach affect your self image, you might want to look into ways to improve your self esteem.

So, yeah, drive what you like.

JohnRW1621
JohnRW1621 MegaDork
4/20/16 7:25 p.m.

I'm not completely buying in but here's the facts... http://articles.latimes.com/2010/jun/19/business/la-fi-women-cars-20100619Highest percentage of female ownership : VW Beetle convertible

Trans_Maro
Trans_Maro PowerDork
4/20/16 7:41 p.m.

Yes, Miatas, VW Cabrios, V6 Mustangs, Fieros etc are either owned by girls or fanboys.