1 2 3
Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/27/13 10:43 a.m.

As a lot of you know, I am a career firefighter. Today, the day before Thanksgiving, is often our busiest day of the year.

Oven fires.

A lot of people only seem to cook one day each year: Thanksgiving. Most haven't cleaned their oven in approximately 366 days. It's okay to hit that self-cleaning button today, but just scrape out the big stuff first and don't forget to remove those cutting boards that you store inside all year. Expect it to smoke a lot as it works and remember that you won't be able to open the oven door mid-cycle as it has a thermo-lock. If you have a smoke detector near the kitchen, it will probably go off.

Also worth noting: Tomorrow afternoon is the big day for first heart attacks.

Happy Thanksgiving. I'll be at work...

Wally
Wally GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/27/13 10:52 a.m.

Tomorrow also the always entertaining turkey fryer accident day. It seems like about half the people I know that tried one has hurt themselves or set something on fire.

Woody
11/27/13 10:56 a.m.

They also smoke up the entire neighborhood. Thanksgiving Day has gotten very predictable.

mtn
mtn UltimaDork
11/27/13 10:57 a.m.

How do you cook frozen pizza if you only use your oven once a year?

nicksta43
nicksta43 SuperDork
11/27/13 11:00 a.m.

I've had real good success opening the hood, laying the food product in a safe place, closing the hood and letting it run for a while. Nice and hot.

N Sperlo
N Sperlo MegaDork
11/27/13 11:01 a.m.
  1. My sister forgot she was cooking Mac & Cheese one day and smoked the apartment complex out once. My friends response to the fire fighters: "Oh! You guys got all dressed up for us!"

2. Tonight is Guns & Hoses, so a sincere St. Louis thank you to any fire fighters or police officers. (Go police )

3. I'll be at work, too Woody. You're not alone. Off at 2p, though.

Ranger50
Ranger50 PowerDork
11/27/13 11:02 a.m.