The_Lily
The_Lily New Reader
10/19/24 2:06 p.m.

Hello, I have been getting acceptance letters from various colleges, and I have narrowed down the list to 2 colleges. These two are Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville and Western New England University. It is probably beneficial to know that I am majoring in mechanical engineering.

Both of these schools cost almost the same for tuition, which makes the decision harder. Obviously, being on GRM means I love cars, and WNEU is in the town that the first car was made. But, Edwardsville is about 20 minutes away from a town I have visited that I absolutely love (Alton, IL). SIUE is also in my home state, which is pretty awesome, but I also feel like the opportunity to live in Massachusetts would be great (I am bad at socializing and I feel that being in a place where I don't know anyone with a dense population would help me open up).

If anyone has any input that would be great. My dad (The_Jed) said that posting on here would be beneficial to get advice from some other people with common interests.

classicJackets (FS)
classicJackets (FS) SuperDork
10/19/24 2:26 p.m.

Congratulations on the acceptances! That's awesome news, and it's great to be starting with choices. Great choice of major as well (from another ME). 

There are a few things I would really consider that will potentially help you for the start of your career as well, as you get through college. 

1. Scholarship or grant availability is huge. Tied in with this, cost of living/safety around the schools can make a real difference in how it feels to be there. 

2. Does either school have extra-curriculars that you see yourself being excited about? How many people go to each school/what is the chance you could find something brand new while you're there?