1 2 3
Klayfish
Klayfish HalfDork
1/4/12 7:10 a.m.

I figured people on this board would be able to give a wealth of info on this.

My 7 year old son joined the Boy Scouts this fall. He's very excited to build his Pinewood Derby car. He just got the "kit". I'm completely new to all this, having never been exposed to the boy scouts before (to say I'm not enjoying it is an understatement...but he likes it and that's all that matters). I did a quick web search and found several websites that sell all kinds of stuff, from wheels to axles etc...but I was more looking for helpful hints. Here's where I need the help.

I have very little carpentry skills. Woodworking has never interested me, so I haven't done much. I also don't want to spend much (if any) money on it. That's not meant to sound negative. I want to have a good time with my son, and I want him to enjoy it. But I don't feel the need, or desire, to go overboard. I realize we won't win the race, but that's OK. If he puts his best effort into it and has fun, I'm happy.

So with that in mind, any GRM tips on building this thing simply, inexpensive (i.e. as close to free as possible), but still fun?

bludroptop
bludroptop SuperDork
1/4/12 7:44 a.m.

When I was a kid, the kit consisted of a block of wood, four hard plastic wheels and 4 nails (axles).

Some kids did nothing more than paint the block of wood and nail the wheels to it. They had fun.

Reducing friction (alignment and lubrication) and maximum weight are critical - aerodynamics comes in third.

Why not go with a theme, a la LeMons? What about a Dakar truck? Keep the woodworking simple and focus on creativity.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
1/4/12 7:46 a.m.

He needs to win this thing.

Don't lay a tool onto that block of wood until everyone here has kicked in every bit of knowledge that they have, assess the data and then get to work. This will be the fastest, cheapest block of wood in the history of scouting.

Edit: