bigdaddylee82
bigdaddylee82 UberDork
8/31/20 1:03 p.m.

Anyone have any experience with solar water heaters?  Specifically the panel style you'd put on the roof?

I'm looking at using them for a closed loop radiant floor heat system, and supplementing a domestic hot water supply.

Justjim75
Justjim75 Dork
8/31/20 1:09 p.m.

I'd like info as well

californiamilleghia
californiamilleghia Dork
8/31/20 1:49 p.m.

I would like to know how you mix the "too hot" water with the cold water to get it at a Hot shower temp ?

My black plastic camping solar heater works great but really gets the water too hot , with no way to regulate the temp !

I would like to put some panels on the roof but need to regulate the temperature.

Ideas ?

bigdaddylee82
bigdaddylee82 UberDork
8/31/20 2:01 p.m.

In reply to californiamilleghia :

I'm far from an expert, but most of the systems I've seen in my research, the solar is in a closed loop, and uses a heat exchanger to provide heat to the domestic water.  So the heat exchanger is taking the place of and/or supplementing your domestic water heater.

I've also seen folks use a more traditional tank style water heater, and circulate the domestic hot water through the solar collector before the water heater or circulate from tank water heater to solar collector back to the water heater.

rustyvw
rustyvw GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/31/20 2:05 p.m.

I've been thinking about doing something like this to help heat my pool.  One of these days I will actually get around to doing it.

akylekoz
akylekoz SuperDork
8/31/20 2:11 p.m.

In reply to rustyvw :

My Father in-law ran a bunch of black plastic tube back and forth behind his pool for a few hundred feet then ran the pump through it, as far as I know it worked.  Seems that a it would feel more effective if the flow through the tubes was on a separate circuit and slowed some to let the water cook a little.

Stampie (FS)
Stampie (FS) MegaDork
8/31/20 2:56 p.m.
californiamilleghia said: