1 2
ryanty22
ryanty22 Dork
8/15/14 11:54 a.m.

Right now I am 33 I have a high school diploma, as Chili Head can attest to high school wasnt much of a challenge I was just interested in other things and did what I had to to get out of there(young stupidity). I have always been a blue collar schmuck I've worked in dealerships, nuclear plants, refineries (with some real roughnecks) coal plants, People tell me to get into automotive on the mechanical side since I have an aptitude for it but one thing I have come across is that if cars are your passion then automotive careers have a way of sucking that passion out if your not in a good place which finding one is becoming harder and harder. I enjoy computers, have a decent aptitude for them just never went into depth learning about them and what I've learned so far is greatly interesting to me. I want to eventually become a hybrid Business Analyst/Data Analyst (what SWMBO does but pride prevents me from going to her along with a feared lack of encouragement). Boxhead Tim gave me some advice about starting computer courses which I have signed up for and started. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated from the hive since this is the greatest brain trust in the world.

ryanty22
ryanty22 Dork
8/15/14 12:02 p.m.

Something that really sucks is my dad told me to do exactly this, "go to school get a computer sciences degree or some E36 M3 like that and work with your mind not your hands like i have". I was too stupid to listen, I wish I would have though or at least come to my senses in time to have told him he was right and I was a dumbE36 M3 for not having listened to him.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/15/14 12:06 p.m.

If it makes you feel any better, I pretty much did what your dad said and I'm even worse off than you are!