1 2
Datsun240ZGuy
Datsun240ZGuy MegaDork
2/6/24 7:17 a.m.

Great songs, way too young, did a lot of entertaining for the troops. 

Dang

preach
preach GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
2/6/24 7:19 a.m.

Sad.

berkeley cancer.

RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/6/24 7:26 a.m.

Now who's going to sell me an $80 ticket to a 2 hour long Ford truck commercial?

11GTCS
11GTCS SuperDork
2/6/24 7:42 a.m.

camopaint0707
camopaint0707 Reader
2/6/24 7:56 a.m.

This was a wild one to wake up to today.

Woody (Forum Supportum)
Woody (Forum Supportum) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/6/24 9:02 a.m.

I always thought that if I was a record producer, I'd get Toby Keith to sing You Shook Me All Night Long, and it would be the biggest selling country song of all time. sad

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
2/6/24 9:09 a.m.

I never liked the guys music. It just smacked of low effort say buzz words till someone throws money at you type of stuff. 

buuut. He was a lot more complicated than that and his inability to quit when faced with continued setbacks and his support of the troops. Good dude. Need more like him.  

slefain
slefain UltimaDork
2/6/24 9:20 a.m.

Dang, I liked a lot of his songs. Not so much on the later stuff, but his early music was prime high school listening among my friend group.

ShawnG
ShawnG MegaDork
2/6/24 9:23 a.m.

Never really been a fan of that era of country music but I liked a few of his songs.

That sucks.

Once again, cancer can kiss the fattest part of my ass.

jmabarone
jmabarone HalfDork
2/6/24 10:02 a.m.

So when I told my wife Carl Weathers died, she was like "okay".  When I told her Toby Keith died, she had a much more animated reaction.  

Not a big country music fan, but I would always enjoy his songs when they played.  Taliban Song and Ballad of Balad always got at least 1 play while cooking for Memorial Day.  

His support for the troops and USO was fantastic.  

bearmtnmartin (Forum Supporter)