1 2 3 ... 8
Peabody
Peabody MegaDork
11/7/23 10:26 a.m.

I work for a major heavy equipment manufacturer and it started slowing down in summer. At the time they said, everything's OK, business as usual, nothing to see here, and now a few months later it's really slow.  This company is great, and treats their employees very well. Considering how slow it was, we could have seen some serious layoffs, but didn't. Now it's starting.

Just wondering, what are you seeing? Slow? Layoffs?

Duke
Duke MegaDork
11/7/23 10:40 a.m.

We're going gangbusters.  We're just 2 partners, 3 associates, and 1 architect for a total of 6. 

We have more than $200M in building construction on the boards.  We've got about 3 months' backlog on these projects, and more to come in the first half of next year, though maybe not quite as large as what's on the fire right now.

[edit]  I'm an architect, specializing in educational work, with other moderate scale stuff as well.

Toyman!
Toyman! GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/7/23 10:42 a.m.

I just hired a new guy because we can't keep up. I had been holding off expecting a slowdown, but it hasn't shown up for us yet. We fill a fairly small niche market that is pretty steady. 

I do a lot of service work as well as construction. When construction slows down, repairs pickup. While the overall numbers may look worse, repairs pay a higher margin so it's kind of a wash.

So far so good, though it is keeping me awake at night on occasion. 

NickD
NickD MegaDork
11/7/23 10:42 a.m.

GM mechanic. The strike pretty much wrecked things at our level. Plenty of broken stuff (GM products after all) but everything is backordered

wvumtnbkr
wvumtnbkr GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
11/7/23 10:47 a.m.

Graphite electrode manufacturer here.

We are running at about 20% capacity.  Still making money....  for now.

Professor_Brap (Forum Supporter)
Professor_Brap (Forum Supporter) UberDork
11/7/23 10:49 a.m.